Czech vz24 8mm Mauser (Before and After cleaning)

All collectible military bolt rifles are discussed here. From all countries around the world.

Preservation forum, please no altered military surplus rifles or discussions on altering in this forum. Please read the rules at the top of each forum.
WeldonHunter

Czech vz24 8mm Mauser (Before and After cleaning)

Post by WeldonHunter »

Ok guys here's one of the Czech vz24s I bought from AIM recently. It's a Russian refurbed rifle and is by intial inspection a fairly decent rifle. It's covered in grease (I say grease because Jim says it's not cosmoline). I've been a mechanic for over 32 years and I've never smelled anything that smells like this stuff but I agree it's not cosmoline like we use here in the U.S.) This is the same exact stuff most of the Mosin Nagants I bought were covered in and it's everywhere. These pictures at of it straight from the box with no cleaning. It came with the set screws, 2 of them for the screws on the trigger assembly. It also has a bayonet that's numbered but not to this rifle, a sling and an Ammo pouch. The "cleaning" rod is what I've heard referred to as a stacking rod. It's a CR prefix number, forced matched rifle. Bolt is electric penciled. It has only the outer part of the crest still intact. It has a small repair on the upper handgaurd. I'll clean it up, take more pictures and post them when it's done.

Before cleaning
Last edited by WeldonHunter on Fri Aug 10, 2012 4:56 pm, edited 2 times in total.
desdem12

Re: Czech vz24 8mm Mauser (Before cleaning)

Post by desdem12 »

Well that looks like a nice one to me. So the Vz's that they have are the romanian contract rifles or are those just mixed in with them? That is pretty cool :vcool: :vcool: :vcool: :Drool1:
The commerce which maybe carried on with the people inhabiting the line you will pursue renders a knowledge of these people important ~Thomas Jefferson~ (to- Lewis and Clark)
WeldonHunter

Post by WeldonHunter »