My 1945 M44. Condition and markings?

"Collectors Forum" - All Mosin Nagant are discussed here. Also the Russian and "Finnish capture" SVT38 and SVT40. This is an excellent place for new Mosin owners to ask questions. We have some of the best experts here looking forward to your questions. If you post a Mosin sniper rifle here, we may or may not move it to the sniper forum.

Preservation forum, please no altered military surplus rifles or discussions on altering in this forum. No sportsters. Please read the rules at the top of each forum
positiv4

My 1945 M44. Condition and markings?

Post by positiv4 »

I am new to Mosins and just picked this up a few days ago. A gentleman was selling off his father's WWII collection. It sounds like he owned the gun for many years, but never fired it. Looks to me like he didn't completely remove all of the cosmoline; just got the majority of the goop off. I would like to keep it's original character, but also fire the weapon. I will be tearing it down and likely applying mineral spirits to the metal, making sure the bore is good and clear, checking firing pin protrusion and need to check head space. Any other recommendations for safety??

The bolt looks to be a bit rusty? I have been able to get the body of the bolt cleaned up, but the knob of the handle is dark.

Also, the front sight hood is a little lopsided. Is there a good way to reform it or should I leave it alone?

Anyway, here are a bunch of pics of the markings and such. The gun matches, except for the bolt. Looks like it was made in Izhevsk. I'm curious if any of the other markings are rare or what there meanings are. Thanks and enjoy!!

catcracker

Re: My 1945 M44. Condition and markings?

Post by catcracker »

:welcome3: to the board.