Difference in Surplus ammo?

Reloading and any ammunition discussions are here.
Wolf74

Difference in Surplus ammo?

Post by Wolf74 »

I'm kinda new to the mosin community and was wondering about surplus ammo. I'm looking to buy a crate of surplus but I've noticed there are different types. They're either from different manufactures or were manufactured on different years. Is there a big difference between the years the manufacture? Should I keep an eye out for one type over the other or are they pretty much on par across the board? Thanks in advance for the info!
Rongo
Administrator
Administrator

Re: Difference in Surplus ammo?

Post by Rongo »

I'm out of the Surplus ammo buying loop for 7.62x54r. Got mine years ago & have no need for more. Most of whats out there is Soviet IIRC... I love the Yugo, Hungarian, Czech & the Polish too. Unfortunately you can't find any of it anymore.
"Patriotism is supporting your country all the time, and your government when it deserves it". Mark Twain

"Dang that entropy"
WeldonHunter

Post by WeldonHunter »

Yeah most of the surplus available now is Russian or Bulgarian. The Russian usually is from plant 188 Novosibirsk LVE and the Bulgarian is usually Circle 10 plant. I actually don't have anything other than Russian but that's simply because that's what my supplier had. I know the Russian is fine ammo from experience and I have it from the 70's up to the 80's and have 4 crates of 40's coming. I can't say how either compares to the stuff Ron mentioned because I wasn't shooting these when it was available. If you're not trying to shoot the eye out of a nat at 50 yards I'd say most of what's available now is fine for fun at the range. I mean it's a Mosin Nagant. Hard not to have fun with one.
Wolf74

Post by Wolf74 »