noob here with first 91/30

"Collectors Forum" - All Mosin Nagant are discussed here. Also the Russian and "Finnish capture" SVT38 and SVT40. This is an excellent place for new Mosin owners to ask questions. We have some of the best experts here looking forward to your questions. If you post a Mosin sniper rifle here, we may or may not move it to the sniper forum.

Preservation forum, please no altered military surplus rifles or discussions on altering in this forum. No sportsters. Please read the rules at the top of each forum
joekinsc

noob here with first 91/30

Post by joekinsc »

Hi!

Just got my first M91/30. I searched for but didn't find any initial safety checks that should be done. I've read about checking the head space. What other safety checks should be done prior to shooting the first time?

I've broken it down and cleaned it. The instructions on the main site of this domain were great, btw!
BuckeyeSgt

Re: noob here with first 91/30

Post by BuckeyeSgt »

Get ya a go/no go gauge from Okie, check the firing pin protrusion and a good looking over. If it all passes and it is clean you should be good to go. Welcome to the forum. But without pics it didn't really happen. :D
Некто кроме нас
US Army 90-94 98G Russian
Army Reserves 94-98 37F
TopperT

Post by TopperT »

:welcome: Double and then tripple check the chamber for dried up old cosmo.......get a flashlight and look into all the tiny recesses. Q-Tips work great to get in there.

:worthless:
"GO AND SMELL THE MOSINS"
desdem12

Post by desdem12 »

:pop: :pop: :pointup: :pointup:
The commerce which maybe carried on with the people inhabiting the line you will pursue renders a knowledge of these people important ~Thomas Jefferson~ (to- Lewis and Clark)
SA1911a1

Post by SA1911a1 »

After cleaning the gunk and junk out of the chamber and checking the head-space the next check is seeing how good it shoots. Just remember all of your other safety rules, expecially eye and ear protection and have a ball!!