M-39 question

"Collectors Forum" - All Mosin Nagant are discussed here. Also the Russian and "Finnish capture" SVT38 and SVT40. This is an excellent place for new Mosin owners to ask questions. We have some of the best experts here looking forward to your questions. If you post a Mosin sniper rifle here, we may or may not move it to the sniper forum.

Preservation forum, please no altered military surplus rifles or discussions on altering in this forum. No sportsters. Please read the rules at the top of each forum
WW1-WW2rifleman

M-39 question

Post by WW1-WW2rifleman »

Hey guys, I’m new to rifles. I was wondering if anyone could tell me about the M-39 Finnish. I know there was a series of conflicts between Finland and the Soviet Union over land issues and I am sure other issues too. Anyway, I know the Soviet infantry rifle during the Winter War was the 91/30. Did the Soviets have any m38 carbines in service for the Winter War? If so, did the Finnish convert any m38s to the m39 pattern or were all the m39s derived from 91/30s?

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
TnBuckeye

M-39 question

Post by TnBuckeye »

This site will get you started, especially the M39 section...

http://mosinnagant.net/finland/default.asp

MOST of the barrels used on M39s were made by the Finns for that purpose, some from cut down Finn m91 barrels, and some may have been made elsewhere per Finn specs (B barrels).

A few examples of M39s have shown up with barrels from Remington m91s, and I have seen at least one posted with an old Russian m91 barrel.

But I have never heard of a m91/30 barrel being repurposed onto one. The barrel dimensions would not be the same on the 2 rifles.

The Finns briefly made their own 91/30s though.

I personally LOVE M39s and have found my few to shoot extremely consistently. And some of the stocks on them can look stunning!

WW1-WW2rifleman

Re: M-39 question

TnBuckeye wrote:This site will get you started, especially the M39 section...