Scope for M44 (Brass Stacker)

NEW! If it won't quite fit elsewhere, maybe it will fit here!!!!
Strictly at the mercy of the Administrators (could be moved)
Crios22

Scope for M44 (Brass Stacker)

Post by Crios22 »

I've ordered the Brass Stacker scope mount for my Hungarian M44. I didn't want to do something permanent (or even worse something that I might wreck my gun by tooling on it) so I ended up going for the stacker. However I need major help picking a scope as I have very little experience with scope purchases. What I'm primarily looking for is something that will suffice for medium range deer hunting, I'm in the woods in Mississippi so I'm not trying to break any sniping records. However I want a good scope that will hold zero through recoil and possibly even hold up to a little bumping around. It's just a "tic" I have (or bit of prepper mentality). :D I want something that is "medium duty" tough or reliable. (Which is why my other rifle is a Saiga in 7.62x39).

So what are your suggestions for a scope that would do for some deer hunting as far as optics is concerned but would also be acceptable as a SHTF or TEOTWAWKI accessory for a bug out gun due to its ruggedness and ability to hold zero?

I'm looking to spend maybe between 100 to 200 bucks? The cheaper the better obviously so I don't end up counting towards the wifes bag limit for the season but I hate spending 100 bucks for subpar when 150 would have gotten me satisfaction.

Thanks in advance!
pongo

Re: Scope for M44 (Brass Stacker)

Post by pongo »

Is using the iron sights not an option for you? I would keep it original.
Crios22

Post by Crios22 »

Well the brass stacker actually allows you to use the iron sights. It's just high enough that they don't have to come off and you can actually use them up close if you want. But I'd prefer a scope for longer shots to try and be more accurate, especially when hunting.
Brake Weight

Post by Brake Weight »