UPDATED INFORMATION 1-1-2019: from my M91/38 database

Post your model specific Mosin here!
neal45

UPDATED INFORMATION 1-1-2019: from my M91/38 database

Post by neal45 »

UPDATED INFORMATION 1-1-2019:

I'm updating the 91/38 database with totals through December 31, 2018

I have been building the database for about 8 years now. It was started just to keep up with prices and had a short description of the 91/38s to keep them apart. As I became more interested in 91/38s, I started adding more data.

In some for sale ads and threads, it is hard to determine all relevant information. I have totaled and categorized what I can see from the photos and learn from the descriptions and sometimes correspondence.

Total M91/38s currently in the database - 152

Dates: 1891 – 1920

Arsenals:
Chatellerault – 9 - 6% of the total
Sestroryetsk – 14 - 10%
Tula – 30 - 21%
Izhevsk – 81 - 61%
Remington – 2 - 1%
New England Westinghouse – 1 - 1%

15 Izhevsks have the Cossack Ka3 mark – 10% of the total

Stock types:

There are at least 55 91/38s with M91 modified stocks. Of these,
14 (25%) have no crossbolts and 4 (7%) have wooden crossbolts. The remainder are steel (69%). That is a very high percentage without the steel crossbolt upgrade that began in 1909. On the other hand, regular M91s with wooden crossbolts or no crossbolt are uncommon. All 91/38 M91 modified stocks I have seen have the M44 type folding bayonet groove.

There are at least 75 with M38 or M44 stocks. Some of the stocks are "Czech" (new, blonde stocks) but I only started keeping up with that recently.

Bayonets:

I have seen two M91/38s still with a bayonet but it looks like most (all?) of them had a M44 type bayonet earlier in their lives.

Single digit number: