Picked up a Yugo SKS Today

Discussion of the SKS platform of semi auto rifles

Preservation forum, please no altered military surplus rifles or discussions on altering in this forum. Please read the rules at the top of each forum.
Titanium Hammer

Picked up a Yugo SKS Today

Post by Titanium Hammer »

I picked up a Yugo SKS today from a local shop. I traded a 38 Tula refurbed 91/30 and $200 cash for it. Sorry for the poor pictures but it's raining outside. In the little bit of research I have done on these Yugos I've found a site that said that serial #'s beginning with a "J" are believed to have been manufactured in 1973. Is this the consensus here? This is only my second SKS so I'm still learning a ton about them. Any insights you might have would be greatly appreciated. I/O was the importer.
Brian the Brit

Re: Picked up a Yugo SKS Today

Post by Brian the Brit »

Nice find :thumbsup:
Dan4good

Post by Dan4good »

my second sks was a yugo and mine is a 78 i like it more than my chinese
Wulfheard

Post by Wulfheard »

To my knowledge you are correct about the “J” prefix, 1973 would be the correct year of manufacture but I wouldn’t be surprised if it has been refurbished somewhere along the line. The rifle looks like it is in nice shape. How does the bore look?

I have one from 1968 that I recently picked up and it was definitely rebuilt to some degree at sometime in it's life. From what I have gathered many of the late 1960s early 1970s vintage M59/66A1 rifles were refurbed, stored and then sold years later as “new unfired” rifles. How much truth there is to that, I don't know. But it does seem plausible.

In any event nice find and lots of luck with it. :thumbsup: