Ammo choice

"Collectors Forum" - All Mosin Nagant are discussed here. Also the Russian and "Finnish capture" SVT38 and SVT40. This is an excellent place for new Mosin owners to ask questions. We have some of the best experts here looking forward to your questions. If you post a Mosin sniper rifle here, we may or may not move it to the sniper forum.

Preservation forum, please no altered military surplus rifles or discussions on altering in this forum. No sportsters. Please read the rules at the top of each forum
Ram48

Ammo choice

Post by Ram48 »

As most of you know I am a Mosin newb
Bought one home yesterday and cleaned her up today.
I hope to shoot it early next week if time and weather allow,
My question is what type of Ammo do most of you use?
I know surplus is least expensive but is it better, and easier to shoot factory loads? If so what brand / type do you use?
I just do not like the idea of having to pour hot water on the gun after shooting maybe 20 rounds thru it.
God, Guns and Guts made America free, Lets Keep all Three.
Dan4good

Re: Ammo choice

Post by Dan4good »

i never use corrosive, i do use tula, red army, white box and ppu all work fine but i still clean all my guns after a weekend of shooting just a personal choice
Junk Yard Dog
Owner/Founder
Owner/Founder

Post by Junk Yard Dog »

I use surplus, have for over 20 years of Mosin shooting, I use it because it's there, it's cheap, and I am cheap :) I know how to clean up after it and it's never been a problem.
Leave it as it is. The ages have been at work on it and man can only mar it.
Don't hit at all if it is honorably possible to avoid hitting; but never hit soft.
Theodore Roosevelt
daveshady

Post by daveshady »

JYD have you ever posted a video to simple clean up method? :brolleyes:
zedteamk2

Post by zedteamk2 »