dirty barrel problems

"Collectors Forum" - All Mosin Nagant are discussed here. Also the Russian and "Finnish capture" SVT38 and SVT40. This is an excellent place for new Mosin owners to ask questions. We have some of the best experts here looking forward to your questions. If you post a Mosin sniper rifle here, we may or may not move it to the sniper forum.

Preservation forum, please no altered military surplus rifles or discussions on altering in this forum. No sportsters. Please read the rules at the top of each forum
nathanlemaster

dirty barrel problems

Post by nathanlemaster »

Hello,im fairly new to mosin's i bought one a few months ago.I have been shooting surpluse ammo through it and i know that the ammo corrosive so i clean the rifle after every shooting. My problem is that after about two weeks of sitting in my gun cabinet there is a dark brown substance that builds up in the barrel. It looks like rust but when i clean it again it is like trying to clean grease out of the barrrel then i put it back in the cabinet and if i look at it a couple weeks later its back. I have never seen anything like it in any of my other rifles. I clean it every couple of weeks and the gunk in the barrel always comes back. So my question is has anyone else had this happen to their rifle? Or is this something that has just been happening to mine? Does anyone have any advice for what i can do to solve this problem? Thanks
jeremyb

Re: dirty barrel problems

Post by jeremyb »

Your not getting it clean enough. The cleaning solution keeps working in the pits in barrel. I've had a few of mine do this. Shows up a few days after the first cleaning. I check mine every few days after the first cleaning. It will stop after a couple times.
jeremyb

Post by jeremyb »

There is also a sticky on cleaning at the top of this page
WeldonHunter

Post by WeldonHunter »